Meeting the Cast of May I Have Your Attention, Please?

Chris Borthwick
Mr. and Mrs. Borthwick
Student Directors
There were laughs and tears as I got to “meet” the cast of May I Have Your Attention, Please? from Reynolds High School. The conversation showed exceptional insight into the play and the need for its message. Sadly, suicide has impacted this cast in their personal lives and the actor playing Chris said he would use that emotion when he brings his character to life on the 24th. Break legs to this cast. More to follow about this cast and their performance.





Join us for our STUDENT DIRECTED ONE ACTS this Friday (Jan 24) at 7 pm in the RHS Ben Brooks Auditorium.

This year we will feature 2 one acts: “May I Have Your Attention Please?” by Catherine Rhoden-Goguen, directed by Janessa Lemus and Michael Smalko; and “The First Fireworks” by Alex Broun, directed by Brisa Miguel Montes and Andrew Riordan.

Admission is by donation, either monetary or of hygiene products. All donations will be combined with the donations collected by other Thespian Troupes in our area and distributed to shelters to help those in need.

Please note: Both one acts deal with death of a loved one; “The First Fireworks” explores the relationship of a daughter with her dying mother, while “May I Have Your Attention Please?” focuses on teen suicide.

New Play to Be Released

Sins of the Daughter is the newest play by Goguen and her co-writer, Matt Rifenburg, The play, which will be premiered by Clay County HS is a play full of twists and turns. Preview scripts are available to directors by emailing: or by commenting with your email address on this page.

“This is a play within a play with many twists and turns and it examines the unintended consequences of genetic testing. It’s a thriller for sure and perfect for showcasing strong actors and actresses. It would be a great competition piece.” Goguen added. “Writing with Matt was great and it really shows his strengths as a writer.”

KY Theatre Association Roots of the Bluegrass Finalists


“The field of talented playwrights was exceptional this year with plays coming in from across the state.I’m very happy KTA provides a showcase for the work of the finalists. The audience will not be disappointed,” said ROTB Coordinator, Cat Rhoden – Goguen.

The Kentucky Theatre Association announces that the finalists in the
2019 Roots of the Bluegrass New Play Contest, 10-minute division, are:

“Appropriate Proposal” by A.K. (Angela) Forbes (Ft. Thomas); “A Brave
Man” by Adam Crawford (Middlesboro); and “Gate Expectations” by Chris
Bishop (Crescent Springs). The finalists will all have their plays
read—and the winner announced– at the Kentucky Theatre Association’s
conference at the November 22- 24 at the University of Louisville .

The Kentucky Theatre Association announces that the finalists in the
2019 Roots of the Bluegrass New Play Contest, full-length division,
are “Fracked” by Ed Clark(Lexington); “Unstoppable” by Matt
Rifenburg(Berea); and “Beatin’ the Dark” by Richard Cavendish
(Richmond). The finalists will all have their plays read—and the
winner announced– at the Kentucky Theatre Association’s conference at
the November 22- 24 at the University of Louisville .

KTA has sponsored the Roots of the Bluegrass New Play Contest and New
Play Festival for ten years. The contest is used to identify plays
that are to be read at its conference in a festival format. Each
10-minute play finalist is read in full and the winner is then
announced.Full-length finalists have a 10 minute cutting from their play read with a short Q/A with each playwright.

“I feel it is only fitting that a statewide service organization that celebrates theatre throughout the Commonwealth honors the development of new plays. These written works embody the people of Kentucky, their triumphs and their trials, and they address issues that affect us all. We are thankful to all of the contributing playwrights and to Intersales, Inc. in Pikeville, who has sponsored Roots of the Bluegrass since it’s inception over a decade ago.” Brad Downall, KTA President

The winner receives a plaque and a cash award. Runner’s up
each receive plaques. This year’s festival will be held at The
Playhouse, 1911 S 3rd St, Louisville, KY 40208 at 7:00 pm,  November 22. The event is open to the public.